Best Kosher Soda Syrups in 2022

Kosher Soda Syrups

If you are looking to purchase a soda syrup that is kosher, you can read this article to learn more about what they are and whether they are acceptable during Passover. We will also discuss the issue of the ingredients in kosher soda syrups, as well as their Kashrus status.

Problems with kosher soda syrups

During the Jewish holiday of Passover, you can only drink sodas that are made with kosher syrups. Sodas made with corn syrup are not allowed during the holiday because they contain chametz, certain grains that have come in contact with water for more than 18 minutes. Thankfully, many manufacturers of sodas have recognized this dietary requirement and have made their sodas kosher for Passover. They do this by using sucrose instead of corn syrup.

Unfortunately, there are many sodas that do not have kosher certification. Most sodas have certification from one of the three main kashrut agencies in the United States, such as the OU, Rabbi Charlop, or the Chicago Rabbinical Council. However, not all Coca-Cola bottling facilities are certified, and many sodas do not carry this label.

The soda syrups that are used in Slurpees are kosher, but many other syrups may not be. These sodas can contain dairy or non-kosher ingredients. It is best to check the syrups before purchasing them, and ask to see the flavor boxes. This is the only way to be sure that they are kosher. You should also check the manufacturer's warranty.

In 1935, the Chief Rabbi of Atlanta declared Coca-Cola to be kosher. But later, it became clear that the rabbis needed more expertise in chemistry than they had in the past. As a result, rabbis began to use this knowledge to oversee the production of kosher food.

Ingredients in kosher soda syrups

If you are observant Jewish, you may be wondering what the ingredients in kosher soda syrups are. This question is important because some sodas are not kosher by law. Moreover, many of the ingredients in kosher soda syrups can be considered leavened, such as corn. If you are concerned about the ingredients of your soda, you should read the label carefully.

The first famous food product to become kosher was Coca-Cola, which was certified by Rabbi Tobias Geffen in the 1930s. He wanted to know the exact ingredients in Coke, so he approached a rabbi in the Atlanta area. The rabbi promised not to disclose the ingredient list, but he wanted to know what was in it. Among other ingredients, Coke contains glycerin, a flavor dispersant.

However, most sodas do not have kosher certification. The major three soda manufacturers in the U.S. are certified by the Orthodox Union (OU), Rabbi Charlop, and Chicago Rabbinical Council, and nearly all of their flavors are kosher. However, this certification does not mean that a soda is truly kosher. For example, some kosher soda syrups contain milk and eggs, which are prohibited by Jewish law. However, this does not mean that a soda made by Coca-Cola is kosher.

Coca-Cola sodas were previously made with sucrose, which is derived from beet or cane sugar. When a change was made, this sugar became an off-limits item during Passover. To remedy this problem, Rabbi Geffen, who was the rabbi of Congregation Shearith Israel in Atlanta, worked with Coca-Cola to bring back the original recipe for Coca-Cola. Nowadays, the company uses the Orthodox Union's "Pasover certification" symbol on its cans and bottle caps.

To make kosher soda syrups, rabbis must first understand kosher law. However, it is important to note that Orthodox rabbis realised that the 2,000-year-old kosher law did not require a scientific understanding of chemistry. The Orthodox rabbis needed to learn more about chemistry in order to oversee modern kosher food production. Therefore, knowledge of chemistry was a necessary part of the process of certifying kosher food.

One of the most important aspects of kosher production is separation of meat and dairy products. This separation allows for the production of kosher products. In contrast, pareve beverages, such as coffee and tea, do not require kosher certification. Natural flavorings can also be kosher as long as they come from a kosher source. Whether a product is kosher or pareve, it must contain the appropriate ingredients list and be labeled as pareve or dairy.

Acceptability during Passover

The Jewish holiday of Passover begins on Friday night, and Jews who follow the kosher diet must avoid grains for eight days. But soda isn't off-limits. There are kosher soda syrups available for those observing the holiday, including Coca-Cola, which has a yellow cap and is available in the U.S. and Israel. Unlike regular Coke, which contains corn, kosher soda syrups use sugar instead of corn. This is okay because sugar is not a forbidden grain.

Coca-Cola used to use sucrose, a sugar derived from beet or cane. When the switch to corn syrup was made, sodas were no longer acceptable for consumption during Passover. But rabbi Tuvia Geffen, the rabbi at Atlanta's Congregation Shearith Israel for 60 years, began working with Coca-Cola to bring back the original syrup during the holiday. Today, Coca-Cola sodas are kosher for Passover and are stamped with an Orthodox Union kashrut certification symbol on the cap.

Soda makers do their best to keep sodas kosher, but not all products have kashrut certification. However, the three leading soda companies have almost all of their flavors certified by kashrut authorities, including the OU, the Chicago Rabbinical Council, and Rabbi Charlop. However, not all Coca-Cola plants are certified, and you should check with your local Coke store to make sure the soda syrups you buy are certified.

Even though there is no need to avoid Coke during Passover, it is still a popular choice among the gastronomic elite. Coke has claimed that no flavor difference exists between a regular Coca-Cola and a Passover Coke. It's not hard to see why so many people buy this soda for Passover, especially those who aren't Jewish.

Kosher Coca-Cola, which is a favorite of soda purists, uses real sugar instead of corn syrup. Unfortunately, it's still unkosher for Ashkenazim. Another popular glass-bottle pop is Mexican Coke, which uses cane sugar instead of corn syrup. If you're looking for something more affordable, look for a BOGO (buy two, get one free) option at your local Publix.

Kashrus status of kosher soda syrups

Soda syrups can differ in their Kashrus status. Some kosher organizations label them as bi'dieved, questionable or forbidden. It is important to double check halacha when purchasing them. However, this is not always possible. Kashrus organizations have developed various approaches to address this issue.

Fountain frozen syrups are commonly kosher, although not all syrups are. A kosher soda syrup may bear an OU seal on the bottle cap or can lid. This OU seal also appears on the label of Coca-Cola STARLIGHT. Be sure to ask about the OU seal on a syrup before purchasing it.

However, the Hashgacha on Coke posed a different problem. The halacha on the Coke syrup requires at least 60 times the non-kosher substance in a kosher food to be kosher. Adding a non-kosher substance intentionally to a kosher beverage is forbidden for the person adding it and for the intended recipient.

Soda syrups made with corn syrup must be reformulated with liquid sugar. Because corn syrup is not kosher during Pesach, many soda companies recognize this and use liquid sugar instead. However, some manufacturers mix corn syrup with honey in order to sell their products as "pure honey."

Sunkist syrups come in several flavors. The Original flavor is OU, while the fruit flavors include raspberry, peach, and strawberry. The Orange Float flavor is not kosher, so be sure to ask before purchasing. And remember, the Frappuccino is not certified kosher.

A company must maintain a database containing information about their kosher requirements, including their label requirements, the expiration date of their certificates and rabbi demands. In addition, if they import bulk ingredients, they may need transport documentation to confirm the origin of the raw materials. In some cases, they also need to check the certification of their tankers. If they are dedicated kosher tanks, this information is usually available.


# Image Product Check Price
1 Monin - Peppermint Syrup, Cool Tingle of Candy Cane, Natural Flavors, Great for Cocoas, Mochas, Smoothies, and Sodas, Non-GMO, Gluten-Free (1 Liter) Monin - Peppermint Syrup, Cool Tingle of Candy Cane, Natural Flavors, Great for Cocoas, Mochas, Smoothies, and Sodas, Non-GMO, Gluten-Free (1 Liter) View
2 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Hazelnut, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Hazelnut, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) View
3 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Vanilla, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Vanilla, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) View
4 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) View
5 Maison Routin 1883 Lychee Syrup, Glass Bottle 1000 Milliliter Maison Routin 1883 Lychee Syrup, Glass Bottle 1000 Milliliter View
6 Fabbri Flavoring Syrup, Vanilla, Made in Italy, 33.8 Ounce (1 Liter) Fabbri Flavoring Syrup, Vanilla, Made in Italy, 33.8 Ounce (1 Liter) View
7 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Salted Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors - USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work (Salted Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk) View
8 Fabbri Flavoring Syrup, Strawberry, Made in Italy, 33.8 Ounce (1 Liter) Fabbri Flavoring Syrup, Strawberry, Made in Italy, 33.8 Ounce (1 Liter) View
9 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup, Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors, USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work, Chocolate Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup, Zero Calories Keto-Friendly Coffee Syrups & Flavors, USA-Made Kosher Sugar Free Coffee Flavoring Syrup For Home & Work, Chocolate Caramel, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk View
10 Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Coffee Flavoring Syrup with No Sugar, Keto-Friendly, Sweet Flavour & Syrups For Coffee Drinks & Baking Pastries at Home or Work - Mocha, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk Matteo's Barista Style Sugar Free Coffee Syrup - Coffee Flavoring Syrup with No Sugar, Keto-Friendly, Sweet Flavour & Syrups For Coffee Drinks & Baking Pastries at Home or Work - Mocha, 25.4 Oz, 1-pk View

Miyu Ohyama

A very hardworking professional with many years of experience in food and beverage, hospitality, event operations, sales, recruitment, and team management.
My entire career is dedicated to food and beverage service in Japan and Canada. Now, I especially enjoy creating a great working environment for my staff and enhancing their skills and knowledge.

Expertise in:
- event operations
- recruiting/training employees, labor management and control
- inventory management
- time management
- problem solving

📧Email | 📘 LinkedIn